Daniel 7:12 Index
"As concerning the rest of the beasts, they had their dominion taken away: yet their lives were prolonged for a season and time."
Research Material

"...the rest of the beasts..."

  • BEAST: Another term, common to symbolic Bible prophecy, is that of "beasts." Nations were effectively cartooned or portrayed by various well-known or unknown beasts, just as some are today: the British lion, the Russian bear, or the American eagle. In Daniel's day a lion, a bear, a leopard, and a fearful monster without an earthly replica appeared in Daniel 7, and the ram and he-goat of Daniel 8 are expressly explained by the prophet as symbols, respectively, of "Media and Persia" and "Grecia" (Daniel 8:20, 21). Similar "beasts" are pictured in the Revelation. These terms are not epithets of derision; they are simply the divine method of cartooning nations and their careers through the centuries. So a prophetic "beast" merely means a kingdom or nation, no more and no less. (Froom 32-33)

"...their dominion taken away..."

  • The territory of Babylon was made subject to Persia, yet the subjects of Babylon were allowed to live on. Similarly, when Macedonia conquered Persia and when Rome conquered Macedonia, the inhabitants of the conquered countries were not destroyed. With the final destruction of the little-horn power the whole world will be depopulated. (4BC 829)

"...yet their lives were prolonged for a season and time."

  • The life of the fourth beast is not prolonged after its dominion is gone, as were the lives of the preceding beasts. Their dominion was taken away, but their lives were prolonged for a season. The territory and subjects of the Babylonian kingdom still existed, though made subject to the Persians. So with the Persian kingdom in respect to Greece, and Greece in respect to Rome. But what succeeds the fourth kingdom? No government or state in which mortals have any part, follows it. Its career ends in the lake of fire, and it has no existence beyond. The lion was merged into the bear, the bear into the leopard, the leopard into the fourth beast. But the fourth beast is not merged into another beast. It is to be cast into a lake of fire. (US 114)
  • The angel said to Daniel, "As concerning the rest of the beasts, they had their dominion taken away; yet their lives were prolonged..." Each one, before being destroyed , was merged into the succeeding one, and its characteristic principles are represented in succession until the end of time. This is clearly shown in the second chapter of Daniel, where the gold, silver, brass, iron, and clay are broken to pieces together and blown away like the chaff, when all earthly nations are destroyed. The same truth was represented in the fourth chapter, when the tree representing Babylon was cut down, but the roots remained in the ground. The roots represented the foundation principles upon which Babylon was built, and they have remained in the earth ever since. When Medo-Persia fell, she left her principles of government, education, and religion still alive, transmitting them to her posterity, the nations of earth. Greece did likewise, and with each succeeding empire those foundation principles, so clearly portrayed in Babylon, which were placed there by the prince of the power of the air, instead of appearing in a weakened state, sprang into life with renewed vigor. So it was that when the fourth kingdom appeared, those same principles of government, which were the counterfeit of heaven's underlying principles, were so strong that no natural beast could symbolize even pagan Rome. (SNH 107)
  • Rome in religion renewed all the religious errors of Babylon, and in education she perpetuated the errors of Greece, while in cruelty she followed in the footsteps of Media and Persia. But as the prophet watched, things still more wonderful appeared. The fourth beast, representing Rome, which succeeded Greece in 161 B.C., had ten horns, which, said the angel, "are ten kings that shall arise." This fourth beast is identical with the legs of iron in the image shown to Nebuchadnezzar, and the ten horns corresponding to the mixture of iron and clay in the feet of that image. Each of the preceding kingdoms had fallen into the hands of some strong general who took the rule, but with Rome the case was different. The details of this history are given in Revelation 7 symbolized by the seven trumpets. Barbarian hordes from the north of Europe and Asia swept over the Roman empire between the years 351 and 483 A.D., crushing the government into ten parts. The ten kingdoms which arose as the result of the breaking up of the old Roman kingdom are: the Huns, the Ostrogoths, the Visigoths, the Franks, the Vandals, the Heruli, the Burgundians, the Suevi, the Anglo-Saxons, and the Lombards. The connection between these and the nations of modern Europe, can readily be traced in the name , as France, England, Lombardy, Burgundy, etc.